Wednesday, 18 September 2019 7:01am
Telephone 01865 779772


Minutes from Governors’ meetings:

LGB meeting 4th July 2018

Information about our Governors:

We hope you enjoy reading about each of our Governors.  Unless stated otherwise, governors have not declared any business or pecuniary interests nor are they members of any other governing body.  Attendance data is given for the academic year 2017/18

Our Governing Body consists of: 4 Foundation Governors (with links to the Church), 4 Community Governors, 2 Parent Governors and 2 Staff Governors (of which the Headteacher is always one).

Sheenagh Broadbent (Headteacher)

As Headteacher of St Christopher’s, Mrs Broadbent is automatically a governor.

Mrs Broadbent provides regular written reports to governors and attends meetings to provide both verbal reports and answer governor questions. She is a member of both committees.

Mrs Broadbent has been the Headteacher of St Christopher’s since September 2014

FGB attendance – 100%                                  Committee attendance – 100%  

Mary Bayliss – Chair of Governors

Mary is a Foundation Governor with strong links to the local Cowley Parish, as her husband is the local rector. Mary is on the Performance and Standards committee and oversees SEN provision in the school.

Mary is a qualified teacher. She trained as a secondary teacher in Geography and Maths and then taught in Norfolk in the 1980s. Once her daughters started school, she became a parent helper, governor, Learning Support Assistant and then a teacher in their primary school. Alongside this, she has run 4 different Rainbow units and various church groups in the 4 different locations her husband Geoff and she have been called to.

Foundation Governor elected 1st September 2016; term of Office ends 1st September 2020.

FGB Attendance – 83%                                    Committee attendance  100%

Rev. Geoff Bayliss

Rev. Geoff is a Foundation Governor. He is currently the team rector of the Cowley Parish and has plenty of experience of being a school governor. Rev. Geoff regularly leads worship in our school on alternate Monday mornings. He chairs the Finance and Premises committee meetings as well as attending full governing body meetings. Rev. Geoff is married to Mary Bayliss, Foundation Governor.

Appointed December 2017; term of Office ends December 2021.

FGB attendance – 83%                                     Committee attendance – 100%

Joseph Sellers

Joseph is a community Governor. He runs his own business locally and has a strong interest in education as he is married to a primary teacher! He is a member of the Performance and Standards committee.

Appointed 8th February 2017; term of Office ends 8th February 2021

FGB attendance – 100%                                   Committee attendance – 100%

Jane Jerrard:

Jane is a community Governor. As a retired primary headteacher she has a good understanding of education, particularly in multi-cultural and inner-city schools. Jane is a member of the Performance and Standards committee.

Appointed September 2017; term of Office ends September 2021

Jane Bishop:

Jane is a community Governor. She works for the NHS and is also a parent with a daughter in Year 5, and her son also previously attended St Christopher’s. Jane attends Finance and Premises committee meetings.

Skills Governor appointed July 2018; term of Office ends July 2022

Tahira Ahmed

Tahira is a Parent Governor. She currently works as the PA to the CEO of an Academy Trust. She has a daughter in Year 3 and she was elected in October 2018.

There is currently a vacancy for our 2nd parent governor.

Harry Strachan

Harry is a member of staff on the pastoral team at another local primary school. He joined our Governing Body in October 2018 as a Foundation Governor and he has joined the Finance and Premises Committee.

Juliet Bligh

Juliet joined the Governing Body in 2019 as a community governor.

Esaivani Reddy

Esai is a community governor. She joined the Governing Body at the start of 2018/19. Esai is a former parent of our school, and she works in education at a local secondary school.

Jordan Tanner

Jordan is a co-opted member of the Governing Body. He is a parent of two children in our school, one in Year 3 and one in our nursery.

Staff Governor:

Helen Norman:

Helen is a Year 2 teacher at St Christopher’s. She took over the Staff Governor role in December 2017 when Mrs Davies went on maternity leave. She is a member of the Performance and Standards Committee.

Governors who have been in post during the past twelve months:

Susan Grenfell

Susan is a retired religious education teacher. She is a member of the Performance and Standards committee and is also the governor with responsibility for monitoring Safeguarding across the school.

Appointed 22nd March 2017; term of Office ended Summer 2019

FGB attendance – 100%                                   Committee attendance – 100%

Sahira Hussain:

Sahira is one of our Parent Governors. She has 2 daughters in our school, currently in Year 4 and Reception. Sahira was elected as a parent governor in an election held in the Autumn Term of 2017. Sahira has joined the Performance and Standards committee.

Parent Governor appointed December 2017; term of Office ended December 2018